A new father’s diary

Every details of the day my son was born remain fresh in my memories. Although the credit exclusively rests on my wife’s vigor in the labor room, I felt of having accomplished a Herculean task when the tiny boy wrestled out to the world with my eyes staring wide open.

It was his first scream, which encrypted a miraculous feeling in my heart entitling me with the identity of a Father. The moment bestowed on me happiness immeasurable and it was the one that could fight all the sophisticated burdens of life.

Merrily holding the new suckling and wearing big happy smiles, we assumed the prime task was over. New parents, I am sure, would have gone through similar thoughts my wife and I did.
We were both wrong! The day our son was born was the day the wheel of parenthood had just begun to rotate around our lives. The true Herculean task was now approaching.

Getting equipped with the necessities for the big day, which I considered as a great attainment, was the easiest jobs of all. Cheering up the would-be-mother during her labour struggle was an anxious and a sweating stint but it was still okay.

The most fruitful involvement is the progression as a father. It is where I stand at today. It is the journey that begins with a new member in the family of a couple. Already a month and half old father, I am glad I made it this far. I cannot quit midway fearing the eventual responsibilities. There are noble lessons to learn, this time, from mistakes that cannot be repeated.

From finalising a perfect name for the child to doing away with the diapers to washing the clothes– the entire focus shifted. I am sure men gifted at multi- tasking could be considered lucky.
In my case, I try my best to provide utmost love and care to my wife and son. Evidently, I haven’t mastered in many fatherly skills. More than mastering the skills, I am yet to accept changes.

However, I have nurtured some basic errands that hold paramount importance in the process. It starts from waking up early everyday. Other activities come quite naturally with some patience handy.
When my son cries, the first thing I do is to check if he was on for a nature’s call. Most of the time he would have taken a leak.

Meanwhile, this is the only experience in my life, which made me notice mother’s infinite love for the child from so close. Fearing I would transmit unwanted viruses or flus, my wife has forbidden me from sitting too close to the child when I am sick. I cannot fall sick.

Likewise, there are numerous “dos and don’ts” I have to optimistically fulfill to be sure the baby was safe and the mother happy.
When at times I express to my partner the tiresome routine, an “unbelieving smile” only reciprocates it. However, it is an awe-inspiring feeling whenever I see my son smile. He has a wicked smile. Nobody but he only could do that. But the journey has just begun! We have miles to cover before our son grew to become a wonderful man.

Leave a comment